Day 4 – A letter to the person who has influenced you most…

by jessicalouisemoore

I don’t think that any one person can fill this position in my life. There are a lot of people that have crossed my path and have opened me up to different experiences that have, in one way or another, changed me.

Obviously my parents are a big part of the reason I am who I am. I am lucky to have a secure and loving home. My father has taught me to travel far and often as he did when he was a child. Going to my Grandparents homes when I was a kid and watching slides of my Dad camping in France have always stuck with me. I always wanted to live in a place where I could drive to another country just like Dad (he grew up in England).

Then there is my Mum. I admire how hard she works and that she isn’t a housewife. I’ve dated boys whose mothers are housewives and I couldn’t think of a bigger waste of my life…that is because I don’t want children, but maybe if you do it’s a little bit different. She has always earned her way in life and I am so happy she has installed those attributes in me.

The friends in my life that I’ve come across have inspired me to do different things. There was the one who encouraged me to reapply to the exchange program and in doing so, changed my life completely. There are the friends who are always there for me when my life “falls apart”…(usually something minor like a boy breaking my heart). Some of the people I love make me feel as though I want to do better, that I can do better and that I should live each day for what it is. They make me feel like I should take risks and I should put my heart on the line because nothing great ever happened to anyone who didn’t ever live a little.

Through all my relationships, with all the interconnected people in my life, I have become the person I am today, and I’m happy with that. I like who I am and sometimes I need a little push to leave the sanctity of my books and my adventures, but I’m loyal and trustworthy and a person that I’m proud of.

I would like to thank all the people in my life, good and bad, who have made me stronger, kinder, more fun and more adventurous than I ever could have imagined.

Thank you. I couldn’t have done it without you.

Jess x

