Farewell Angsana

by jessicalouisemoore

To compare Angana resort to a slice of heaven would be too easy. A sheltered part of paradise hides on the beaches of Langco, where the locals are some of the gentlest creatures I’ve ever met, and the happiest. As we leave the resort headed to the airport, we drive past the shadows of the mountains on one side and the rice and fish farms on the other.

Yesterday, our tour guide Djong, told us that electricity had only come to Langco six years ago and that some of the farmers couldn’t afford the new equipment and so farmed with buffalo instead. In a world where my birthday presents cost more than the average Vietnamese citizen earns in two months, you could say the experience has humbled me and planted a new seed in my heart.

I have made friends among the staff at Angsana resort. The wonderfully attentive and slightly mischievous Nhen was our waitress at dinner on New Years Eve. She taught me the true value of laughter, language and how telling the bartender “En yu ahn” or “I love you” can brighten up the otherwise boring dinner shift. She taught me a few words and organised a cooking class, where she joined the chef and myself, talking my ear off about my travels, friends and asking me why I didn’t have a boyfriend. I won’t ever forget her or the playful spirit she was.

Unexpectedly Vietnam has been one of my favourite holidays. The only shopping I did was for a book and a small collection of souvenirs and I’m happy about that. It’s been a holiday for my mind. There are people I would love to bring back here and today I am leaving with the feeling that there is so much more to see, touch, hear, smell and taste…especially taste.

Next I will write all about the food that I have tasted, from the food I would live off to the dish that could only be described as warm tinned tuna that might have actually been salmon.

Until next time,
Jess x

20140105-152215.jpg

20140105-153625.jpg

20140105-153656.jpg

