Find your happy place.

by jessicalouisemoore

What do you think of when someone says “find your happy place”?

Personally, I am instantly transported back to America. The obvious choice would be New York because it is, without a doubt, my favourite place on earth, however, sometimes I find myself picturing other places just for fun. There is Aspen, another obvious choice I suppose, with the snow capping the mountains and the fairy lights twinkling, making everything look heavenly. In Aspen, like in many other ski resorts, there is an air of luxury that blankets the area much like the snow. It goes hand in hand, or glove in glove, depending on the temperature.

I don’t think that a “happy place” has to be a particular place in the world, it could just be a simple memory of a place that is easy enough to be transported back to. For instance, there was one day in November 2011, in Michigan (believe it or not) where most of the campus was deserted. I took my book to the common room which had these floor to ceiling windows. I remember, sitting alone on the giant blue couch, reading, when it suddenly started to snow. I think I ended up staring out that window for an hour because it was so effortlessly beautiful. It is one of my happiest memories to date.

Until next time,

Jess x

Image

Image

