The ultimate first world problem.

by jessicalouisemoore

You’d think that with a three week
European holiday looming I would be dreaming of the beach and planning what tourist sites I want to visit. Instead, mum has decided that it is much more important to plan exactly what I’ll be wearing for each leg of our 20ish hour journey.

As one who normally travels in old leggings (often with holes) and an oversized jumper, I’m finding the concept of having multiple, socially acceptable outfits for the flight a little hard to get my head around.

An important thing to realise is that there are a few factors that must be considered when choosing inflight attire. You must look “smart”, you must be comfortable, you must choose something that isn’t easily stained and if all else fails you must have one outfit to get on the plane in and an entirely different one in which to endure the long hail flight. You must also have a different, sometimes pair, of outfits for each port you’re due to stop off in. It’s also important to look comfortable but classy during the flight in the rare event that an attractive male is in your vicinity. Last but not least there is the climate you will be arriving in.

You now see my dilemma.

I have my first outfit down pat. Simple Capri pants with a smart jumper and flats for the QANTAS lounge and benefit of customs officers in Sydney. This is combined with a pair of comfy leggings and a t-shirt to switch into and watch inflight movies and possibly drool on in a Valium induced nap. But, what do I wear once I get to Dubai? And then again on the flight from Dubai to Malta. Finally, what do I change into once I arrive in Malta so that my Nanna, whom I haven’t seen in 2 years, won’t think I’m some husband-less slob! At least I’m getting my hair styled beforehand, translated to, at least it won’t be in a sweaty bun.

All in all, I’m sorry for the three people reading this but I have no conclusion to offer on this matter. It is a first world problem that I am yet to solve. I guess you’ll have to stay tuned for the clichéd “departure sign” photos that are a staple of gen y travellers to find out what I finally decided on.

Until next time,
Jess

20140707-204917-74957180.jpg

